The picturesque rock village of Krögelstein in northern Franconian Switzerland is nestled in the narrow valley of the Kaiserbach. The fields are on the heights and the meadows in the upper and lower valley. The arch of an old brickwork, the remnant of the castle of the Knights of Crogelstein, arches over a narrow rock gorge below the church. In July 1523, soldiers of the Swabian League set fire to the castle and placed four tons of powder under the large waiting tower, which lifted it from the ground and plunged it into the ditch. The landmark of the village is the "Old Fritz", a 30 meter high dolomite rock. Also worth mentioning are the "Sweden rock" and the "Lion rock", which has the shape of a lying lion.
July 19, 2017
Krögelstein was settled as early as 800 BC, as evidenced by the burial mounds in brown wood. In 1149 it was first mentioned as Crogelstein. From 1149-1239 the noble lords of Krögelstein ruled, probably whale pots. Bishop Heinrich von Bamberg gave the Veste Krögelstein and goods to a Dietz von Giech in 1500. In 1523 the castle was left in ruins to end the robber baronism of those of Giech. In 1800 Krögelstein was the largest parish village of the Counts of Giech with 71 houses. In 1810 the village became Bavarian.
July 19, 2017
The short detour is definitely worth it. A beautiful little village framed by impressive rock formations.
Passing the remains of the castle ruins, the climb to the small church in the middle of the Krögelstein cemetery is well worth seeing. From there you can simply return to the main route towards Wonsees.
June 12, 2020
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!