The imposing half-timbered house on the historic market square presents a varied journey through time on five floors. Impressive objects such as the precious replicas of the "Hildesheim silver find" from Roman times or the sumptuous silverware of the Prince Bishop Friedrich Wilhelm von Westphalen from the 18th century take you into the urban life and work world. Discover the many facets of Hildesheim from prehistory to the present!
But the city museum in the Knochenhauer-Amtshaus also presents annually changing special exhibitions on a variety of topics - not only from the city's history!
On the ground floor there is a restaurant, which opens S0-Mon from 11.00:
January 29, 2018
The Knochenhaueramtshaus is the most famous half-timbered house in Hildesheim. The building, built in 1529, was completely destroyed on March 22, 1945 during the air raid on Hildesheim by the fire that was ignited. In 1986 and the following years it was rebuilt in traditional style.
Originally it was the Guildhall of the Butchers (Knochenhauer), as it shows today in the windows of the 2nd floor the signs of traditional trades of craftsmanship - keeping a close eye on them: the town hall. This makes it a particularly valuable sign of the craft.
In today's restaurant, a regular Hildesheim dignitaries has established again, so it continues here a long tradition.
Particularly noteworthy are the carvings on the north side - filled with modern paintings depicting the war and its destructive effects.
November 5, 2019
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!
Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.