Shop
Discover

St. Laurentii (ev.)

St. Laurentii (ev.)

Hiking Highlight

Created by komoot users
Recommended by 33 out of 36 hikers

Tips

  • JR56

    Die Stadtkirche St. Laurentii im Zentrum von Itzehoe ist das größte sakrale Bauwerk der Stadt. Sie wurde von 1716 bis 1718 als barocker Backsteinsaalbau mit einem weit gespannten Holztonnengewölbe errichtet und ersetzte eine zweischiffige gotische Hallenkirche, die beim Stadtbrand von 1657 (im Dänisch-Schwedischen Krieg) weitgehend vernichtet und danach nur provisorisch wiederhergestellt worden war. Unter der Kirche befinden sich Grüfte mit Metallsärgen von Stiftsdamen des Adeligen Klosters Itzehoe und Mitgliedern der Reichsgräflichen Familie Rantzau.

    Der Namensgeber der Kirche – Laurentius – war der Diakon an der Seite des Bischofs Sixtus II. von Rom. Er starb als Märtyrer und wurde auf einem eisernen Rost bei lebendigem Leibe vebrannt. Seine sterblichen Reste sind in San Lorenzo fuori le mura in Rom beigesetzt.

    Das heutige Gotteshaus bewahrt bis auf die Veränderungen aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert immer noch den Charakter seiner Entstehungszeit in den Jahren 1716 bis 1718. Der weitgespannte, saalartige Innenraum ist dreischiffig gegliedert und trägt in der Mitte eine Holztonnenwölbung.

    Weitere Informationen findet man in der Broschüre “Illustrierter Kirchenführer zur Gruft der St. Laurentii-Kirche in Itzehoe”. Das Buch ist im Gemeindebüro für 5 € erhältlich.

    1196 frühste urkundliche Erwähnung eines Priesters und einer Kirche in Itzehoe

    1584 bis dahin wurde die St. Laurentii-Kirche mehrfach umgebaut und erweitert

    1657 Die Kirche fällt dem großen Brand von Itzehoe zum Opfer

    1661 Wiederaufbau der Kirche mit neuem Altar und neuer Kanzel

    1716 Neubau der St. Laurentii-Kirche auf altem Fundamenten

    1842 Turmerhöhung um ein Geschoss, Innen- und
    bis1857 Außenrenovierung

    1894 Aufsetzung eines Turmhelms, Ausbau von Turm- und Südportal. Erneute Innenrenovierung mit Ausmalen der Gewölbetonne und Einbau von Buntglasfenstern

    1905 Orgelneubau hinter altem Prospekt von Arp Schnitger

    1961 Innenrenovierung mit Beseitigen der Querempore, der Empore hinter dem Altar, der neugotischen Ausmalung und der Glasfenster

    1980 Außeninstandsetzung, Turmhelmrenovierung, Innenrenovierung

    2002 Turmsanierung

    Weitere ausführliche Infos:

    kirche-itzehoe.de/isg/kirchen/st-laurentii

    • July 10, 2019

  • Tevion1505 (Andreas)

    A church in Itzehoe consecrated to St. Lawrence was first mentioned in a document in 1196. When the Cistercian Sisters moved from their monastery in Ivenfleth to Itzehoe in 1263, this church became the monastery church, around which the other monastery buildings were laid out. After the Reformation in 1541, the cloister was the only aboveground medieval monument in Itzehoe that has survived as a women's monastery. Also medieval are the tombs under the church, which served the Counts of Schauenburg as graves until the 15th century, followed by Counts Rantzau and the abbesses of the monastery. In connection with the Danish-Swedish War, the two-aisled Gothic hall church was largely destroyed in the town fire of 1657 and then only temporarily restored. From 1716 to 1718, today's church was built as a baroque brick hall with a wide wooden barrel vault. The gallery with the canons' boxes, which originally divided the nave in the manner of a rood screen and blocked the view of the altar from the rest of the community, was demolished during the renovation in 1961, during which the neo-Gothic painting of the church from 1894/96 was removed again became. In 1985 it was rebuilt, but behind the altar on the east wall.

    The original tower protruded little over the church roof and had a flat, pointed roof. From 1894–1896 it was increased by almost 40 meters to 79.45 meters according to plans by Johannes Otzen and provided with a baroque onion hood, four pointed turrets at the corners and a viewing platform. The construction stages are easy to distinguish by the brick colors. The tower was badly damaged in a storm on January 8, 2002, and the necessary renovation was completed in 2005.

    Source: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stadtkirche_St._Laurentii_(Itzehoe)

    translated byView Original
    • August 30, 2021

  • Niels-Uwe 🚶🐦

    More detailed than described by JR56 is not possible thanks for that. Perhaps even .
    The church organ was started by Arp Schnitzer between 1715 and 1719, and ended after his death by his student Lambert Daniel Kasten.
    In 1905 the organ was replaced by a new one by Wilhelm Sauer

    translated byView Original
    • January 19, 2021

In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!

Best Hikes to St. Laurentii (ev.)

loading

Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.

Learn More
loading
Location: Itzehoe, Steinburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany

Information

  • Elevation50 m

Most Visited During

  • Jan
  • Feb
  • Mar
  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
  • Nov
  • Dec

Weather Forecast - Itzehoe

loading
Discover

St. Laurentii (ev.)

What We Offer

Discover
Terms of ServicePrivacy PolicyCommunity GuidelinesSecurity vulnerability reward programImprint