On May 7, 1897, a friend of the Duke of Arenberg was shot dead in Forst Schleiden by a hunting accident. On the site, the Duke had a chapel built, which in 1899 was dedicated to St. Eduard (patron saint of the victim), furnished, painted and furnished with a gothic oak altar. In 1977 the chapel was badly devastated by perpetrators who remained unknown. With the restoration she was placed under monument protection. The lonely gem in the middle of the forest is today an impressive hiking and pilgrimage destination.
Verkehrsamt Hellenthal, Rathausstr. 2, 53940 Hellenthal
May 23, 2017
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!