Plankenfels is located at the eastern entrance to the Franconian Switzerland. In the middle of the rock, forest and river landscapes, a picturesque picture emerges around the village. The place is still part of the Upper Wiesenttal. Two rivers, the Lochau and the Truppach, flow into the formative third, the Wiesent.
Northeast of Plankenfels in 481 meters altitude is the Plankenstein castle stable.
The former castle was a strategic hill fort; From there one could observe the old army road that connected Nuremberg with Leipzig. On the way to Plankenfels, the Burggraf of Nuremberg had the escort law, from here to Kainach the Bishop of Bamberg. The fortress was very important: at the risk of war fourteen knights of the surrounding castles had to do service with their families.
April 11, 2017
The Plankenstein keep is the remnant of the abandoned medieval Plankenstein castle. It lies above the Plankenstein district at the highest point on the plank stone of the same name in the Upper Franconian town of Plankenfels in Bavaria, Germany. The castle, which was built during the 13th century and existed until the 15th century, preserves very few remnants of the building fabric. It was originally the ancestral seat of a noble sex and later came to the Bishopric of Bamberg. From the freely accessible castle stable offers an impressive view of the Franconian Switzerland.
May 10, 2016
This castle stable is an impressive gem. Secluded, but with a mystical and mysterious exterior, this castle stable is a wonderful place to stay. The steep flank is particularly impressive, immediately reminiscent of the stone sculptures of the Easter Islands and chasing a shiver down your spine. The castle grounds themselves are quiet and only the constant wind plays their song in the leaves. Sun rays blink through the branches and invite you to relax on the soft ground. A powerful place! Not much is known about Plankenstein Castle. 1196 and 1207 a Wirnt von Plankenstein, Bischöflich-Regensburger Ministeriale is mentioned as the owner of the castle. From around 1300 the castle belonged to the Ehrenfelser zu Helfenberg, which they sold to Count Palatine Ruprecht I in 1374.
December 21, 2019
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!