Waldsassen has a pretty old town with beautiful Baroque buildings. A stroll through the charming streets is definitely worth it. Further highlights of the city are the monastery basilica, the monastery library, the nature discovery garden of the Waldsassen Abbey and the Stiftlandmuseum.
The beginnings of Waldsassen go back to before the year 1133. On October 1, Margrave Diepold III. from Vohburg-Cham monks from Volkenroda in Thuringia to found the monastery Waldsassen, presumably starting from an already existing hermit community around an otherwise unoccupied Gerwig von Volmarstein. Waldsassen developed in the following centuries into one of the most important Cistercian monasteries in Bavaria. From 1214 imperial abbey, the monastery came in the late Middle Ages under Palatine rule, after it had chosen in 1465 Count Palatine Otto II of Palatinate-Mosbach-Neumarkt for Vogt. 1571, the monastery was abolished by the Palatine Elector in the course of the Reformation. For a long time, the monastery buildings were the only settlement. It was not until the 17th century that the first rows of houses were built outside the monastery, erected in the form of a "grid city" by immigrant Calvinist drapery families. As a result of the re-catholicization from 1621 came in 1661 again Cistercians from the monastery Fürstenfeld to Waldsassen. 1690, the monastery was raised again to the abbey, 1803, however, secularized in the wake of the Reichsdeputationshauptschlusses again. In 1865 the railway line Wiesau-Eger was opened. For Waldsassen this meant an industrial boom. In 1896 Prince Regent Luitpold awarded the Waldsassen market town rights. The population had grown to almost 4000 now. Thirty years earlier, the first porcelain factory was founded, which in the following years followed a clinker factory, a brick factory and the first glassworks.
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!