Adolph Werth was born on April 25, 1839 and died on February 22, 1915 in his hometown of Barmen. He was the owner of his father's factory for Barmer articles, which was located on Mühlenweg. Adolph Werth felt committed to historical research. He was a member of the Bergisches Geschichtsverein since its inception and founded the Barmen department in 1868, of which he was secretary. In 1869 he became chairman of this department. In 1887 one of the founders of the Schlossbauverein Burg a.d. Wupper, where he was secretary for 15 years. From 1913 he took care of the establishment of an archive and a Bergisch library. As his father's successor, he managed the archives of the Reformed community of Gemarke since 1872. His research area included the history of the community of Gemarke, the history of yarn food and the city of Barmen, and he documented the rebuilding of Burg Castle.On July 15, 1916, the Bergisches Geschichtsverein Barmen, chaired by Privy Councilor Albert Molineus, unveiled the monument to Adolph Werth. It consists of a granite boulder from the Odenwald with a bronzed copper plate. The plaque was melted down during the Second World War, and on February 5, 1955, it was replaced by the efforts of the Bergisches Geschichtsverein and the Barmer Beautification Association. The new plaque with a slightly changed inscription was made by the August Lange company from sheet copper with bronze letters.Source: denkmal-wuppertal.de/2011/09/gedenkstein-fur-adolph-werth.html
June 16, 2021
A round trip, for example from the Toelleturm into the forest down to the Murmelbach or down from the creek, for example to Kaiser-Wilhem-Höhe, is always very nice. You can include the Vorwerk Park in the round. There are always great views and beautiful corners to discover.
September 16, 2020
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!