Stublang is located where the Döritz and Döberten streams unite in picturesque nature. At the confluence, the faithful once built the village's emblem from sandstone and dedicated it to Saints Nicholas and Gumbertus. The church was built in 1780 after three years of construction as a successor to a chapel from the Middle Ages. The church building could not be oriented to the east as usual, as the location on the stream did not allow this. Planner Conrad Fink decided to let the choir of the stately building made of ashlar sandstone deviate a little to the south. Fink designed the nave as a room with three window axes. Like the previous medieval building, the new church was dedicated to Saints Nicholas and Gumbertus. In addition, the Stublanger venerate the Frankish folk saint Sebastian very particularly.
April 21, 2020
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!