The railway line accompanies you on the way. Unfortunately, trains rarely run.
January 6, 2019
The Hespertalbahn began in 1857, and as a narrow-gauge railway with horse operation, it served the ore mines in the Velbert region as a means of transport. In 1877 the Pörtingssiepen colliery was connected and the line from Kupferdreh to Hesperbrück station on Hammer Straße was re-gauged to standard gauge. The remaining narrow gauge section after Hefel was closed in 1918. From 1927 until the Pörtingssiepen colliery was closed in 1973, the mine workforce was closed to the public.
December 22, 2019
"In 1872, a railway depot and the railway bridge over the Ruhr, which connected the Ruhr Valley Railway as part of the Bergisch-Märkische Railway, were built in Kupferdreh. This is how one of the largest railway junctions in the Ruhr area was created. The bridge over the Ruhr once had round arches and then received during of the construction of Lake Baldeney in 1929. It was blown up in the Second World War, but then rebuilt as a single-track railway bridge. Today it serves as a pedestrian bridge, the tracks were removed. The Kupferdreh station was opened in 1898. The front platform was used by the Ruhr Valley Railway, the crossed the Ruhr Bridge. Before the bridge, the Hespertalbahn or Pörtingsiepenbahn branches off to the Pörtingsiepen colliery at the time. "
June 23, 2020
It is always an experience when the old railways start moving.
May 27, 2021
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!
Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.