Bike Touring Highlight
The castle was the seat of the family of the same name, from which Engebrand and Wilhelm von Rurich were first mentioned in a document in 1248. In the middle of the 15th century, the castle at that time came to the family of Zweibrüggen through marriage, whose members, like those of all other genders, called themselves “von Rurich”. Through marriage, this time to Sophia von Rurich with Heinrich von Reuschenberg (later to zu Eicks), the property came to his family in 1517.
May 9, 2020
Really quite a large castle with a few buildings.
We did not find any information as to whether guided tours in or around the castle are possible.
The access to the castle grounds is somewhat inconspicuous very close to a roundabout in Rurich. Although we were on the castle grounds, we saw no one and did not discover any other boards that suggest a visit.
June 13, 2021
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!