komoot
  • Discover
  • Route planner
  • Features
Discover

Matthiasturm

Matthiasturm

Hiking Highlight

Created by komoot users
Recommended by 58 out of 60 hikers

Tips

  • Blumie🌻

    The Matthias Gate was built between 1483 and 1486 as a northeast access to the Ortenburg.

    translated byView Original
    • December 31, 2019

  • Sachsen Onkel

    The tower got its name from the Hungarian king, who received the Lausitz through the peace of Olomouc. The tower was built in the Gothic style at the end of the 15th century. It used to be the only entrance to the castle.

    translated byView Original
    • June 5, 2020

  • Puffin

    Gothic gate tower of the Ortenburg

    translated byView Original
    • March 11, 2022

  • Uwe Drescher

    The Matthias Tower, Upper Sorbian Maćijowa wěža, is a gate tower from the late 15th century on the north-east side of the Ortenburg in Bautzen. After the Peace of Olmütz (1479), through which Lusatia was awarded to the Hungarian King Matthias Corvinus, the Ortenburg was rebuilt in the late Gothic style by the bailiff on his behalf between 1483 and 1486. The Matthias Tower with the relief, named after the king, also dates from this period.

    The castle was accessible from Schloßstraße through the Matthias Gate.
    Even before the Matthias Tower was built, a castle chapel was set up on the second floor of what was then the Matthias Gate. From the outside, it can be seen from the city side through the two elongated pointed arch windows in the Matthias Tower to the south-east. Inside, the chapel has an area of just a few square meters and is protected by the inner battlement of the tower. Below the two pointed arch windows was an altar.[1] Opposite the window side is a box, which can be reached via a narrow, dark staircase. On this staircase there is a balustrade in the style of a delicate Gothic tracery. Below the box is a floor-to-ceiling niche, which was probably used to store sacred objects and vestments. The doors in the chapel were also heavily decorated. On the ceiling between the windows and on the opposite side are two angels, each holding a shield.

    The chapel was inaugurated in 1225 by Bishop Bruno II von Porstendorf of Meissen. It was consecrated to Knight George as the patron saint and as a result was given the name St. George's Chapel. As a result, it was richly endowed in particular by the knights of the area.
    Source: Wikipedia

    translated byView Original
    • November 29, 2021

  • 🦄 ɱαɾiα

    Michaelisturm in Bautzen by Hungarian king

    translated byView Original
    • July 7, 2020

In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!

Best Hikes to Matthiasturm

loading

Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.

Learn More
  • Easy
    01:50
    4.34 mi
    2.4 mph
    175 ft
    175 ft
  • Easy
    00:59
    2.26 mi
    2.3 mph
    175 ft
    175 ft
  • Easy
    01:15
    2.86 mi
    2.3 mph
    225 ft
    225 ft
  • Easy
    01:16
    2.98 mi
    2.3 mph
    150 ft
    150 ft
  • Intermediate
    01:21
    3.11 mi
    2.3 mph
    200 ft
    200 ft
  • Intermediate
    02:09
    5.04 mi
    2.3 mph
    275 ft
    275 ft
  • Intermediate
    02:42
    6.34 mi
    2.4 mph
    300 ft
    300 ft
  • Intermediate
    02:27
    5.80 mi
    2.4 mph
    250 ft
    250 ft
  • Intermediate
    02:05
    4.79 mi
    2.3 mph
    325 ft
    325 ft
  • Plan Your Own Tour
loading
Location: Upper Lusatia, Saxony, Germany

Information

  • Elevation220 m

Most Visited During

  • Jan
  • Feb
  • Mar
  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
  • Nov
  • Dec

Weather Forecast - Upper Lusatia

loading