From the main street down it goes to the Gerberbachviertel, below the city wall, of which the view is exposed here and there and enthroned above the houses of the old town. The quarter was probably created in the 13th century and is now picturesque with its old half-timbered houses, the oldest from the 16th century, many of which have been beautifully prepared and beautiful to look at. It will have been completely different when animal hides were tanned here until 1900 and a corresponding smell must have been in the air.
In between, the Grundelbach is exposed in some places, from which the tanners took the water they need for their craft.
August 20, 2021
From the 16th to the 19th century, one tanner's house stood next to the other on the Gerberbach. Under the protection of the city wall, the tanners found everything they needed to practice their craft. Guild meetings presumably also took place in the Büdingers' house. Only the red tanners, who tanned the hides of cows, calves and oxen, were allowed to join the guild. This guild was not accessible to the white tanners who processed deer, roe deer, goat, lamb and sheep.
The houses in Quergasse, Gerbergasse and Münzgasse were workhouses with open walkways to the workshops. The tanners took the water they needed from the Grundelbach in buckets. It was not until 1681 that they were allowed to irrigate their pits with a direct supply line. The Gerberbach district looks very picturesque today with its winding streets and old half-timbered houses. Numerous former tanner's houses and tanner's workshops can still be seen in this quarter, which is located by the brook.
July 19, 2021
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!