Excavations on the castle hill, which is visible from afar due to its conical shape and is exactly 400 m high, were shown in the mid-1980s that the former "Reichsburg Berinsteyn" was located there in the High Middle Ages between 1090 and 1198.
The "Krawutschketurm", named after the Eifel hiker Franz Krawutschke, offers a breathtaking view over the ridges of the Eifel.
From the edge of the parking lot the view sweeps over the widening valley of the Rur with the reservoir Obermaubach over the edge of the Eifel into the Jülich Börde and the Cologne Bay.
July 28, 2020
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!
Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.