Bike Touring Highlight
Located in picturesque surroundings, one of the largest village churches in Lower Saxony: the St. Dionysiuskirche zu St. Dionys. Here the place is named after the church. As early as 795, according to legend, Charlemagne founded the first church here. It was named after the patron saint of Charles, Saint Dionysius, who was beheaded in 285 as Bishop of Paris during a persecution of Christians.
The present church was built on the site of the old church in neo-Gothic style and inaugurated in 1860. After the renovation, it offers the visitors largely the original design and color scheme. Noteworthy are the baptism taken over from the previous church (1608/1689), the painted wood grain in the panels of the pulpit and galleries, the coffered ceiling and the striking altar background. The romantic Furtwängler organ was faithfully reconstructed by the organ builder Amadeus Junker (Meinersen).The church is open every day from Palm Sunday to October until 19.00 for visitors and silent worship.Source:
April 9, 2017
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!