Bike Touring Highlight
The Jagdschlößchen am Ukleisee was built in 1776 by the Eutin court architect Georg Greggenhofer on behalf of the Prince-Bishop of Lübeck Friedrich August. It stands on an elevated promontory between the basement and Ukleisee in the middle of an idyllic forest landscape. Over the years, the building was used as a tea pavilion, pleasure house for small celebrations and as a hunting lodge. Wilhelm von Humboldt, Immanuel Geibel and Johann Heinrich Voß were among the lovers of the glacial forest, hill and lake landscape on Lake Ukleise. The princes had already discovered the picturesque landscape for themselves and set up a small domicile between the two lakes.
The lake was formed after the once 100 m thick glaciers melted, as blocks of ice thawed later under the rock masses carried along and left water-filled sinks. The river, now surrounded by beeches and oaks, is up to 16 m deep and 35 hectares in size. Around him is a mysterious legend that a little church is said to have sunk here. To this day, the Ukleisee is rightly a popular destination.
April 16, 2019
The late baroque Jagdschlösschen towers on the highest point between Kellersee and Ukleisee. Prince-Bishop Friedrich August had his little "Lusthaus zu Sielbeck" built here. Anyone who has seen this place will understand why the prince chose this place.
July 13, 2020
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!
Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.