A richly decorated stucco adorns the ceiling of the Sophienhäuschen, a rococo pavilion on the Sophienberg near the palace. Above the entrance it bears the name Heinrich III.
During the renovation period in 1742/1743, the castle chapel received a valuable small organ. It comes from the famous organ builder Gottfried Silbermann (died 1753 in Dresden). The organ is still played today.
The surroundings are also embellished in a remarkable way. On the already mentioned Sophienberg, after the mother Heinrich III. named, walking paths are created that run across the park.
March 24, 2019
It should also be mentioned that here (in the park or in the castle) there are occasional music events and concerts in the summer. With the picturesque surroundings it is of course very recommendable. A nature trail begins to the right of the pavilion and you can hike down the mountain to the wooden bridge - and then continue past the bridge back to Burgk, or go over the bridge and turn left to the Jägersteig to Burgkhammer.
Incidentally, several films have already been made in the castle and castle park, including: The Invisible Visor (1970s), Adventure Middle Ages (documentary 2005) or The Golden Goose (2013)
June 5, 2019
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!
Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.