komoot
Discover

Altes Schloss Schleißheim

Altes Schloss Schleißheim

Hiking Highlight

Created by komoot users
Recommended by 133 out of 138 hikers

Tips

  • HS-muc

    Historic building with interesting history. Very nice garden area

    translated byView Original
    • May 30, 2019

  • Felix

    In the old castle Oberschleißheim there is an exhibition about parts of the Bible.

    translated byView Original
    • July 30, 2018

  • Heike P

    The old castle was built in 1598 as a manor and can be visited today. It houses a museum of religious folk art.
    Closed until November 2020 due to renovation

    translated byView Original
    • June 6, 2020

  • Jay Bee 🚴🏻‍♂️

    The castle park is open from 8:00 a.m. and invites you to stroll. From Lustheim Palace to Schleißheim Palace. The best way is to enjoy the tranquility on the side routes in the park.

    translated byView Original
    • August 1, 2020

  • 🦣 Mammut Frank 🏒🥅👨🏼‍🚒🚒

    The old Schleißheim Palace goes back to a simple mansion built under Duke Wilhelm V (r. 1579–1597) after his abdication around 1598, which formed the center of the extensive Schwaighof and was called Wilhelm's building. The modest complex, located near the Wittelsbach summer residence, Schloss Dachau, was intended to serve as a place of reflection and prayer for the Duke in the last years of his life.In 1598, Duke Wilhelm V, who had previously founded the Hofbräuhaus, set up a brewery in the Wilhelmshof, from which the Schleißheim beer emerged.Maximilian I (reigned 1597–1651), the son of Duke Wilhelm, had the building demolished down to the cellar walls as early as 1617 and the present-day Old Castle built instead. This unpaved complex is typologically similar to the Laufzorn Castle that Maximilian's brother Albrecht had begun the year before. There, too, a flight of stairs leads up to the manorial first floor. The building in the style of the late Renaissance, based on Andrea Palladio's villa buildings, was completed in 1623. Heinrich Schön the Elder was probably appointed as the master builder, while Peter Candid executed numerous wall and ceiling paintings.
    In 1679 Maximilian's son and successor, Elector Ferdinand Maria (ruled 1651–1679) died in the Old Palace. His son Max Emanuel took over the Schwaighof and planned to include the old castle in the extensive new building of a Schleissheim residence, but the plans were never fully implemented. After the New Palace was built, the older building was used less often. The large central hall served as the Schleissheim parish church from the 19th century. The old castle suffered severe damage in World War II and was in a ruinous state for decades after the end of the war. A restoration took place from 1970 onwards, not all of the historic interiors were restored, but some of them were used in a modern, museum-like manner.

    translated byView Original
    • January 6, 2022

In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!

Best Hikes to Altes Schloss Schleißheim

loading

Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.

Learn More
loading
Location: Oberschleißheim, Munich, Upper Bavaria, Bavaria, Germany

Information

  • Elevation520 m

Most Visited During

  • Jan
  • Feb
  • Mar
  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
  • Nov
  • Dec

Weather Forecast - Oberschleißheim

loading
Discover

Altes Schloss Schleißheim

What We Offer

Discover
Terms of ServicePrivacy PolicyCommunity GuidelinesSecurity vulnerability reward programImprint