The kaolin deposits southeast of Kemmlitz were explored from 1907 to 1913. First of all, from 1908, mining took place via tunnels and shafts. Crude kaolin was extracted by means of broken piers until 1960, and from 1953 the "Frieden" opencast mine was operated on the northwestern field. The opencast mine was expanded to the south and east, the kaolin was conveyed using a bucket chain excavator and transported away using conveyor belts. The opencast mine was in regular operation until 1990. From 1999 to 2004 the remaining kaolin was extracted from the Westfeld. The area of the kaolin store, which is more than 5 meters thick, is 210,000 square meters.The open-cast mining operation was discontinued in 2004, work to secure and stabilize the embankments followed, after which the remaining open-cast mine was flooded and today forms a charming little lake.After 130 years, the deposits in the Kemmlitz - Börtewitz - Querbitzsch area have been largely dismantled. Today's deposits are located north of Kemmlitz.
Photo: SV Mügeln, K. Helbig
October 21, 2020
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!