The Gamburg ob der Tauber is a European cultural heritage and is known for one of the most extraordinary hall buildings of the Staufer period. His “Barbarossa frescoes” with depictions of the crusade next to magnificent arcades are considered the oldest secular wall paintings north of the Alps and the only surviving original painting of a knight's hall. The castle was never destroyed, also thanks to its rescue by Götz von Berlichingen, and is still inhabited today - allegedly even by over 21 ghosts! Your keep was still in use during World War II. The baroque park with botanical rarities and nymph fountains along its light axis is unique as an integral part of a castle complex. The café in the courtyard is adorned with Mediterranean plants and offers a wonderful view of the Taubertal. The shop is now located in the old wash house. Weddings take place in the chapel and in the coat of arms room. The castle and castle park are open with regular tours on weekends and public holidays. Numerous events are also offered.
October 25, 2020
Gamburg Castle is a hilltop castle built in the 12th century in Gamburg. The castle has been privately owned since 1546 and has been inhabited throughout. The castle has been owned by the von Mallinckrodt family since 1980. In contrast to many other castles, the Gamburg, like e.g. B. in the Renaissance, rebuilt a few times, but it was never destroyed.
July 28, 2022
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!