Near the castle are today few remains of the 1371 already existing, but then for the first time mentioned in a document Hankertsmühle. After the accidental death of the last miller's wife, the miller left the estate in 1912 with his 13 sons and emigrated to the USA. In 1913, the mill was bought by the state on demolition. A small Roman column, which today is on the former archway of the estate and comes from a Limesbauwerk, shows that in the Middle Ages, the Roman remains was also used as a cheap quarry, as in the 20th century, the Hankertsmühle itself. At the mill opens the Kümmelsbächle , the former Mühlbach, into the red.
August 16, 2019
- Nice barbecue area in a (actually) quiet location in the Rottal
- May be more frequented on weekends
- right on the water ("red")
- a barbecue area and 3 groups of benches with a table
- In the vicinity you can discover the remains of the former "Hankertsmühle"
- the "Hankerstmühle" was one of the largest and most important systems in the Swabian Forest
- More interesting information at: swp.de/suedwesten/staedte/schwaebisch-hall/13-soehne-hatte-der-letzt-betreiber-der-hankertsmuehle-keiner-wollte-uebernehmen-22231773.html
- s. also: komoot.de/highlight/1122441
June 20, 2020
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!
Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.