Auerbach Castle was established at the beginning of the 13th century above the town of Zwingenberg to ensure customs revenue and safety on the Bergstraße. It was built by the counts of Katzenelnbogen, a powerful aristocratic family from the Rhine-Main area.
The castle was considered impregnable at that time and was expanded over the years. When about 250 years after the castle was built in 1479, the last Count of Katzenelnbogen died, the castle came into the possession of the Landgraviate of Hesse-Darmstadt. Initially, the lavish building continued to be inhabited, but with the development of black powder storage weapons, the castle lost strategic importance and was abandoned.
Despite everything, the ruin is in an impressive state today and both towers are still accessible after a restoration. A unique sight is the over 300-year-old pine, which is located on top of the shield wall.
December 21, 2017
The ruin is usually open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and is freely accessible (and free of charge). In the restaurant (different opening times) you can even book knight's meals with English-speaking heralds. Opening hours, contact and more at
schloss-auerbach.deThe more than 300-year-old pine on a shield wall of the castle complex covers part of its water requirements through the air humidity, which condenses on the needles and drips to the ground. Incredible!
October 12, 2019
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!