Discover

Schloss Dätzingen

Schloss Dätzingen

Hiking Highlight

Created by komoot users
Recommended by 188 out of 198 hikers

Tips

  • Mimu

    Dätzingen Castle characterizes the center of the Grafenau district. It emerged from a former brother house of the Order of St. John, which was mentioned in 1263. In 1607 the first building of the castle was finally erected.

    translated byView Original
    • August 30, 2015

  • Mimu

    The local history museum presents rural country life, family, local, castle, religious and world history in a few rooms and in the attic of the castle. In the stairwell and the attic, exhibits are reminiscent of the rural and manual living conditions of earlier centuries.

    Opening hours:
    every 3rd Sunday of the month
    from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.
    and by appointment
    free entry

    translated byView Original
    • August 30, 2015

  • Lina, Luca, Yvonne

    Very nice castle, perfect to look at 👍

    translated byView Original
    • February 5, 2021

  • Hubert F.

    A pretty little castle.

    translated byView Original
    • March 6, 2018

  • Oliver Schneider

    In the forest behind are the remains of a pleasure garden and an aristocratic cemetery ...

    translated byView Original
    • November 24, 2020

  • haertera

    A beautiful castle with a small park. Very photogenic

    translated byView Original
    • February 18, 2021

  • Kristian

    The Order of St. John acquired the village of Dätzingen in the 13th century. As early as 1263, a brother house was mentioned in a document in place of today's castle. Suspected, but not certain, is a water castle as the medieval predecessor building. The first palace buildings were built in 1607. At that time the place came into the possession of the Order of Malta. The castle was expanded to today's four-wing complex in 1733. In the 18th century, the commander's domicile was in the castle. After the Reichsdeputationshauptschluss the place was assigned to the Kingdom of Württemberg. Count Carl Ludwig von Dillen came into possession of the palace in 1810 as a gift from King Friedrich I. Changes made by the court architect Nikolaus Friedrich von Thouret, especially the portico from 1810 to 1812, resulted in the current appearance. The building came into the possession of the Grafenau community in 1961. Today the castle houses the local history museum, a gallery, an auction house and an antiquarian bookshop.
    Source: Wikipedia (de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schloss_D%C3%A4tzingen)

    translated byView Original
    • August 3, 2021

In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!

Best Hikes to Schloss Dätzingen

loading

Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.

Learn More
loading
Location: Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Information

  • Elevation410 m

Most Visited During

  • Jan
  • Feb
  • Mar
  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
  • Nov
  • Dec

Weather Forecast - Baden-Württemberg

Discover

Schloss Dätzingen