The castle of Titignano has ancient origins. Its foundation goes back to the year 1000 by Farolfo Montemarte. Coming from France Count Montemarte had come to Italy after the king of France Ludwig II.The castle of Titignano has long been controversial between the Welsh of Orvieto and the Ghibellines of Todi. Over the centuries, the building has become a palace in every respect, surrounded by the village of the same name. From 1830 it belongs to the Counts of Florence, the present owners.
Today, the castle and the village are part of a farm, which also extends over farms and surrounding lands. The Titignano farmhouse includes rooms in the old houses of the village, a restaurant with Umbrian-Tuscan cuisine and a swimming pool with stunning views over the countryside and the Corbara.
August 2, 2019
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!