Greetsiel - Kutterhafen

Bike Touring Highlight

Created by komoot users
Recommended by 1428 out of 1533 cyclists

Tips

  • Seahunter

    Greetsiel became famous for its picturesque harbor and twin mills. The harbor and the historic buildings in the town center served in recent decades as a backdrop for cinema and television films. The Pilsum lighthouse, which is about 3 km from Greetsiel, has gained notoriety.
    Numerous restaurants, restaurants and shops, which are also open on weekends, invite the visitor to stay in Greetsiel. Whether hotel, guesthouse, holiday apartment or holiday home - there is an offer for the most diverse demands.

    Greetsiel offers day trips to the surrounding area and the offshore islands.

    You can reach the villages of Krummhörn leisurely by bike via dyke roads and dirt roads.

    Most villages in the Krummhörn are built on Rundwarften (earth mound for protection against the flood), on whose highest point the church stands. When the first dikes were created can not be dated exactly. The data range from 1000 AD to the 12th century.

    Of course, the inhabitants of East Frisia were influenced by the landscape and the constant fight against the sea.

    Also typical is the Low German, which is spoken here.

    (Quelle-www.greetsiel.org)

    translated byView Original
    • May 23, 2016

  • charles

    Greetsiel is located directly on the Leybucht, a small bay on the East Frisian west coast. Large parts of the bay were gradually diked, so Greetsiel today is the only port on the Bay of Ley. Greetsiel also includes the neighboring village of Hauen and Akkens, a residential area on a quay, both of which are west of the village.
    In the 1990s, the Leybuchthörn was completed. This structure extends as a headland in the Wadden Sea. Within the Leybuchthörns are a reservoir and the access from the North Sea to Greetsieler harbor. Between the harbor and the open sea there is a lock. Since completion of the building Greetsieler port is tideunabhängig accessible.
    Source: Wikipedia

    translated byView Original
    • December 15, 2016

  • Seahunter

    The port of Greetsiel is home to the largest cutter fleet in East Frisia. At the 30 cutters have moored here sometimes. Mussel catcher, excursion steamer, Dutch Tjalken and a sailboat harbor complete the picture. The harbor itself is tidal independent. Through a lock on the Leyhörn, which was completed in the early 1990s, the tide and tide have lost their influence. In the past, ships coming from inland used the passage of passage to reach the open sea from here. From Greetsiel there was a busy operation to the islands. Directly at the harbor in the Sielstraße are the oldest town houses of the place. Some of these houses date back to the 18th century. On the gable fronts are coats of arms, which give information about their date of origin and their early owners.
    There is, for example, the house of the couple Tobias Wilhelm Damme and Elke Ubben from the year 1741 or the house with the inscription "IN DOMINO CONFIDO" ("I trust in God") whose gable stone stimulates the imagination of the village chroniclers. From the time of Cirksenas Castle, which was demolished in 1777 under the administration of Prussia, there are hardly any memories of stone. After Ostfriesland had fallen to the Prussians, the village changed significantly. Under the Prussian administration, the Siel was built in 1798 in the town center, whereupon the eagle points over the Sieltor.
    In the 19th and 20th centuries, the port developed more and more from commercial to fishing port.

    Fishing area before and after the First World War was Leybucht, which was not yet diked. While in former times the fish were caught there in gillnets and with sailing boats, today modern cutters go as far as Schleswig-Holstein and fish in front of Sylt and Amrum. Often the fishermen stay at sea for days. Sometimes fished into December, as long as the weather permits.

    translated byView Original
    • January 21, 2017

  • Seahunter

    Danish ice cream at the Siel top

    translated byView Original
    • January 4, 2016

  • Seahunter

    The port of Greetsiel is home to the largest cutter fleet in East Frisia. At the 30 cutters have moored here sometimes. Mussel catcher, excursion steamer, Dutch Tjalken and a sailboat harbor complete the picture. The harbor itself is tidal independent. Through a lock on the Leyhörn, which was completed in the early 1990s, the tide and tide have lost their influence. In the past, ships coming from inland used the passage of passage to reach the open sea from here. From Greetsiel there was a busy operation to the islands.
    From the time of Cirksenas Castle, which was demolished in 1777 under the administration of Prussia, there are hardly any memories of stone. After Ostfriesland had fallen to the Prussians, the village changed significantly. Under the Prussian administration, the Siel was built in 1798 in the town center, whereupon the eagle points over the Sieltor.
    In the 19th and 20th centuries, the port developed more and more from commercial to fishing port.

    Fishing area before and after the First World War was Leybucht, which was not yet diked. While in former times the fish were caught there in gillnets and with sailing boats, today modern cutters go as far as Schleswig-Holstein and fish in front of Sylt and Amrum. Often the fishermen stay at sea for days. Sometimes fished into December, as long as the weather permits.
    Source greetsiel.org

    translated byView Original
    • January 21, 2017

  • Sue C.

    Relaxed you can enjoy this beautiful place outside the holiday periods and weekends!

    translated byView Original
    • September 21, 2016

  • Seahunter

    Whether a fish sandwich on the go or a koplettes fish dish, here you can go to culinary good.
    Delicious ice cream directly at the harbor or coffee and cake in the various localities in the place.

    translated byView Original
    • March 30, 2017

  • Seahunter

    Greetsiel is always a great place for us cyclists to take a break,
    eating Danish ice cream, enjoying coffee and cake, or enjoying a warm meal with a cool blonde.
    The old fishing village is always worth a visit.

    translated byView Original
    • January 29, 2017

  • Vlady

    With 25 crab-cutters, who regularly drive to the romantic harbor of Greetsiel, here is the largest cutter fleet in Ostfriesland. In addition to the main catch, the crabs, which are actually called garnet, are also landed in small quantities and flatfish such as plaice, coarse and sole. The historic harbor is over 600 years old.
    Here you breathe history and seafaring romance in a unique environment of charming historic gabled houses and idyllic lanes. And: you enjoy pure sea air!
    Since 1991, there is the lock Leysiel, which separates the fishing port and the marina from the open North Sea. Up to eight cutters can be passed through here at the same time. Thus Greetsieler Hafen is tide independent, high and low tide "stay outside". The old Sieltor is over 200 years old and a popular meeting place for Greetsiel guests. Here the Greetsieler Sieltief flows.
    greetsiel.de/ferienregion-krummhoern-greetsiel/unser-fischerdorf-greetsiel.html

    translated byView Original
    • June 3, 2019

  • Naxxos

    The picturesque Greetsieler harbor consists of the fishing port on the west side and the marina on the east side of the harbor basin.

    translated byView Original
    • April 28, 2018

  • Crise

    Very nice route between Greetsiel and Norddeich always along the dike !!!

    translated byView Original
    • November 18, 2016

  • solotalent

    In Witthus there is the best apple strudel ever!

    translated byView Original
    • September 13, 2017

  • Raserboy

    Also in December, a detour to Greetsiel worthwhile. Some shops and pensions have already closed, but the charm of the city remains. A walk or a bike ride from Norddeich along the Leybucht to the Ottoturm or Pilsumer Turm is always fun. Finally, go to the fish restaurant de Beer Greetje in the Kalvarienweg.

    translated byView Original
    • December 6, 2017

  • Marvin

    A beautiful little harbor, very busy during the day. But in the morning and in the evening you can sit there relaxed and enjoy a delicious ice cream from the ice cream parlor!

    translated byView Original
    • April 9, 2018

  • Marvin

    Really beautiful houses, none are like the other. Nice, small shops and a very delicious ice cream shop can be found here.

    translated byView Original
    • April 9, 2018

  • Derda Von Dort

    Greetsiel beautiful little dreamy crab fishing village, with the special flair.
      Many small cafes and restaurants invite you to eat, to relax, or just to flambé.
      For me, the fresh crab bread is out of hand is the greatest pleasure and the seagull scream in the background trying to make their prey.

    translated byView Original
    • June 15, 2019

  • Xray2307

    The Greetsiel twin mills are the landmark of Greetsiel in East Friesland.
    There are two Dutch windmills, which are about 130 meters apart at the entrance to the village, east of the old Greetsieler Sieltief. The green mill dates from 1856, the red mill was built in 1706 and can be visited. It was restored in 1921 with old parts and the cap from the Aurich Wallmühle built in 1750.

    translated byView Original
    • February 26, 2017

  • Seahunter

    Now in winter it is the most beautiful there.
    Greetsiel is almost alone.

    translated byView Original
    • December 6, 2016

  • 🚴‍♂️ Teuto Radler Stukenbrock 🚴‍♂️

    Whoever comes to Greetsiel is captivated by the enchanting sight of a dollhouse village with historic gabled houses from the 17th century, the over 600-year-old fishing port with its impressive shrimp fleet.

    translated byView Original
    • October 3, 2017

  • Vlady

    With 25 crab-cutters, who regularly drive to the romantic harbor of Greetsiel, here is the largest cutter fleet in Ostfriesland. In addition to the main catch, the crabs, which are actually called garnet, are also landed in small quantities and flatfish such as plaice, coarse and sole. The historic harbor is over 600 years old.
    Here you breathe history and seafaring romance in a unique environment of charming historic gabled houses and idyllic lanes. And: you enjoy pure sea air!
    Since 1991, there is the lock Leysiel, which separates the fishing port and the marina from the open North Sea. Up to eight cutters can be passed through here at the same time. Thus Greetsieler Hafen is tide independent, high and low tide "stay outside". The old Sieltor is over 200 years old and a popular meeting place for Greetsiel guests. Here the Greetsieler Sieltief flows.
    greetsiel.de/ferienregion-krummhoern-greetsiel/unser-fischerdorf-greetsiel.html

    translated byView Original
    • July 2, 2019

  • Irmy

    Greetsiel has its own charm in every season

    translated byView Original
    • October 5, 2017

  • Erwin

    From there along the coast is a real holiday experience

    translated byView Original
    • December 11, 2017

  • Naxxos

    Greetsiel is just beautiful to look at!

    translated byView Original
    • April 24, 2018

  • Naxxos

    It is very nice to see when the crab fishermen run out.

    translated byView Original
    • April 27, 2018


In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!

Top Touring Cycling Routes to Greetsiel - Kutterhafen

Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.

Location: Greetsiel, Aurich, East Frisia, Lower Saxony, Germany

Information

  • Elevation0 m

Most Visited During

  • Jan
  • Feb
  • Mar
  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
  • Nov
  • Dec

Weather Forecast - Greetsiel