The castle is still privately owned, but is leased to the municipality Brüggen. This operates since 1979 in the former Palas and Southwest Tower, a regional hunting and natural history museum, in which native, partly extinct species and weapons from the Stone Age can be seen until the 19th century. Since May 2000, there is also Brüggens Tourist Information, and since the year 2002 visitors can also inform themselves about the nature park Maas-Schwalm-Nette.
In addition, the buildings and the castle area regularly serve as a venue for cultural events such as concerts, theatrical performances and art exhibitions. Since mid-2009, civil ceremonies have been possible in the Burgsaal.
March 5, 2018
"... In the period from 1561 to 1577, the Palas was increased to its present height, provided with new larger windows and the interior layout changed fundamentally to serve as residential floor for Duke William V. In addition, the castle was given by a Bastion walled with casemates in the north and west a fortress-like character ... "The customer review has been automatically translated from German.
February 17, 2019
From the Christmas Eve of the year 1289, the first documentary mention of the castle Brüggen and its mill dates. In the middle of the 14th century, the castle was turned into a fortress with four towers, and then the buildings between the towers were raised to its present height in the 17th century. From 1494, the castle Brüggen remained until 1794 as the fortress northernmost border fortress of the Duchy Jülich. It was privatized by the French government in 1801 and is still privately owned. In 1974, the municipality of Brüggen leased the castle for the Museum Mensch und Jagd, which opened in 1979.
February 21, 2019
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!