Het Badpaviljoen in Domburg, which opened in 1889, has a rich history.
The exuberant design by architect J.J van Nieukerken was an excellent fit for the guests, who at that time enjoyed the healthy sea air in Domburg.
Not only a flourishing circle of artists, but also the rich nobility of Zeeland, Russian princes and German princesses stayed in this fashionable seaside resort at that time.
The European nobility also came to Dr. Butcher to Domburg.
The well-known Dr. Butcher treated many Kurtourists with his famous 'thumb'. He is considered the founder of today's physiotherapy.
In the middle of 1990, the construction company Van Garderen en Dekker from Goes bought the now dilapidated and closed hotel. At first, it looked like a complete break was the only option.
Fortunately, much of the old Badpaviljoen has been preserved and completely restored. In a very tasteful way, the part of the new building is grown against the old building. As a result, Badpaviljoen has regained the glory and allure of the last century.
In March 2008, the doors of the restaurant Het Badpaviljoen were reopened, making this special place again accessible to all.
May 25, 2017
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!