Mountain Biking Highlight
The lords of Schwarzenberg built the Kastelburg around 1280. They were patron of the St. Margarethen monastery. The castle was the court seat and location of the manorial prison at the time of the Austro-Austrian camera rule. AD 1632 the Hochbergers took it. Imperial troops destroy the castle in 1634 after a three-day siege.The mysterious castle ruin not only attracts visitors from outside, but also inspires its own residents again and again. In this way, a group has come together that keeps reviving the history of the Kastelburg in a nightly spectacle. The tower tours have become a real insider tip and allow you to experience the history of the Waldkirch landmark in an entertaining way.
The knight's path leading to the castle brings history to life for children. A model of the castle before its destruction can be viewed in the Elztal Museum. See also in the menu item guided tours. Many other citizens are involved in the “Kastelburg in Not” campaign, which works tirelessly to preserve our landmark.
Source: City of Waldkirch
March 2, 2020
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!