The pioneer days of mining are brought to life at the Nachtigall colliery in Witten Ruhrtal. Equipped with a helmet and miner's lamp, visitors can reach the visitor mine through low gears to a real coal seam. In the exhibition around the shaft "Hercules" from 1832 - one of the first underground shafts of the district - guests get to know the technology and heavy working conditions of the miners in the 19th century. The engine house is a historic steam engine, and a coal ship moored outside. Between the Nachtigall colliery and the nearby "mine and field railway museum" trains regularly run on the weekends during the summer months. Hikers can explore the history of black gold on the "Mautental Moutain Trail". To visit is u. a. the "Miners' Meeting House", where visitors can forge an old tradition or experience the traditional "squatting" on guided tours. The beer garden invites to snacks and drinks. In the coal mine Herberholz, the Förderverein Mining Historical Sites Ruhr district e.V. maintains a small museum with exhibits from the old and newer mining industry.
November 2, 2017
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!