Situated facing the Serra de São Macário, Covas do Rio is the main town in the parish that includes Pena and Covas do Monte. The Deilão stream, fed by the Covas do Rio stream, runs through the town before continuing towards Paiva. There is evidence of Lusitanian-Roman occupation, but records are scarce. However, documents from 1096 already mention the region.
Among the local stories, the legend of the “Path of the Dead Man who Killed the Living Man” stands out, in which a coffin slipped on the path and dragged one of the carriers with it.