It is a street village of 46 homesteads with an elongated plan, small spatial structure, located in the 16th century. in the middle of the Šventele valley, which is crossed by the Miškinėlė stream, which flows out of the Miškinis lake. From the south, the "Island" is washed by the undulating hills of the Švenčioni highlands. In 1741, the settlement consisted of 7 homesteads with 16 inhabitants. Since the time of the tsar, the village has belonged to various officials: Švenčioni, Zablatiškei, Ceikinii, Kaltanėnii, Šventa dvar... The name of the settlement itself is different. During the tsar's time, the village was called "Big Village", "Big Garden". The inhabitants themselves often call their village "Islands" or "Sala". In the period 1940-1945, two huge fires destroyed most of the buildings. In 1991, there were already 30 homesteads... 4 authentic cloons have survived, from the 19th century. 4 barns with side barns, 6 shops, 5 saunas and 3 cellars - architectural monuments. It is because of this architectural and cultural heritage that the buildings in the settlement were declared cultural monuments in 1971. Didžiasali ethno-cultural reserve consists of 42 homesteads. In this way, an effort is made to preserve the authentic, traditional architectural expression of the buildings and the natural environment.