Brough Castle commands a strategically important position at the foot of the Stainmore Pass. The Romans built a fort here to protect their military road across the Pennines. 1,000 years later, the Normans built a castle on the site, which was later destroyed by the Scots in 1174 and hastily rebuilt before the end of the century.
Like so many in the region, the castle was renovated by the prolific Lady Anne Clifford in the 17th century, before falling into ruin following her death.
It is now under the protection of English Heritage and entry into its grounds is free.