Bike Touring Highlight
The Seegarten bridge connects the northern tip of the Kirchmöser peninsula via the Wendsee with Plaue. As early as 1650, Georg Christoph von Görne built a bridge on Plaue at the narrowest part of the lake, which did not exist for long.
During the First World War, the powder factory was built in Kirchmöser West. In the years 1916/17 the so-called "powder bridge", also called "Werkamtsbrücke", was built to open up the industrial area. At the end of the Second World War, the bridge was blown up by German troops.
1947 was a pedestrian emergency bridge, which was used until 1954. In the years 1951 to 1954 the destroyed powder bridge was repaired again and received after the traffic transfer the name "Rosa Luxemburg bridge". She served 52 years of traffic.
In 2005, the old bridge was demolished and in the summer of 2006, a completely new, straight, three-span steel truss bridge was built, which also ensures the passage for large container ships.
In the photo you can see the old Plauer Bridge.
The old Plauer Bridge leads over the Havel to the district Plaue of Brandenburg an der Havel and is considered a unique technical monument with its steel truss structure and its Art Nouveau railing. In 1244, the sources mentioned a wooden bridge, which was destroyed in a feud between the Margrave of Brandenburg and the Archbishop of Magdeburg.