Mountain Biking Highlight
Run on the PegnitzEven before the founding of the city, several mills were built on the Pegnitz, which flows there at a higher gradient. The settlement, built in the 11th century, became a city under Emperor Charles IV as part of its Neo-Bohemian territory in 1355. He also had the Wenzelschloss with his unique coat of arms built, probably on Hohenstaufen foundations, on an upstream Pegnitzinsel.After the collapse of the New Bohemian rule Lauf came as Bavarian office under the rule of the Landshut line of the house Wittelsbach. In 1504, at the time of the Landshut War of Succession, the imperial city of Nuremberg, as an ally of the Munich line of Wittelsbacher, was able to secure control over Lauf. In the Second Margrave War was overcame by troops of the Margrave of Brandenburg-Kulmbach Albrecht Alcibiades twice and set fire to 3. June 1553.  In 1806 Lauf came to the new Kingdom of Bavaria and became the seat of various offices and courts.The city was already economically important in pre-industrial times. So were on the Pegnitz next to mills and hammer mills. In the 16th century, the hammer mill was owned by Henry Ayrer (1481-1554), who sold the factory in 1534.  From about 1870 the industrialization took place in Lauf.Reference and further information: de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lauf_an_der_Pegnitz
June 11, 2019
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!
Our Tour recommendations are based on thousands of activities completed by other people on komoot.