Bike Touring Highlight
Beautiful peaceful atmosphere and all hands around the chapel to discover (fountain, Stations of the Cross, etc.). For centuries it has been the place of pilgrimage and spiritual center of the Pfarrverband Rheinbach. On January 20, 1681, the letters of the Christ monogram IHS, the first and last letters of the Greek name of Jesus, were discovered by splitting a book in its trunk. The log was stored in 1683 in the Jesuit Church of the Assumption in Cologne and from 1717 in the Jesuit Church of the Name of Jesus in Bonn. As early as 1683, the first forest chapel was built on the site. In the course of the development of the chapel to a place of pilgrimage, a monastery was built in 1686 and next to the chapel in 1728 a church. It had land of about nine and a half acres (about 30,000 square meters). It was inaugurated in 1745 by Elector Clemens August.
July 15, 2018
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!