Bike Touring Highlight
The pier and the old harbor basin in Ringkøbing were built in 1904-05 to ship material for the construction of the lighthouse in Lyngvig (1906). In the past, the lack of a pier was regularly complained about, as the ships had to anchor in the low water. The western basin was created in 1928 before the opening of the lock in Hvide Sande. From 1958 to 1997 this part was dominated by the Nordseewerft, a large, busy workplace that had to close suddenly. Since then, most of the site has been taken over by wind turbine manufacturer Vestas, which has built new administration buildings and production halls.The landmark of the harbor front is the old customs office of 1843. From the upper floor one kept the shipping traffic in the eye. Later it was residential house. From 1995 it was used as a restaurant for several years. Note the staircase from old tombstones from the 17th-18th centuries. The red-painted storage building on the harbor square with flagpole and lookout was designed by Plesner in 1906, where port material is still kept there today.The old harbor is used by fjord fishermen and leisure sailors. The crane comes from Hvide Sande, where it was used in 1912-15 to close the wide mouth of 1908 with concrete blocks. The Hafenplatz received after the construction of a commercial property in 2004, which now dominates the square, a nice new pavement. To the east of the old harbor are the tool sheds of the fishermen, a picturesque, mature building with the nickname "Indian camp". Incidentally, the foreland of the old town is dominated by the town hall, 1970 by Fl. Bay-Jørgensen designed.hvidesande.dk/de/12-der-hafen-ringkobing-gdk936443
July 16, 2019
In the know? Log-in to add a tip for other adventurers!